UC San Diego SearchMenu
  • Social Media Banner
  • A Coil Diversity Award

    Chancellor Pradeep K. Khosla (left), Professor of Physics Alison Coil (center) and Vice Chancellor Becky Petitt (right) at the 23rd Annual Diversity Awards ceremony on March 1, 2018.

  • ChemExpo 2017

    The UC San Diego American Chemical Society-Student Affiliates earned both Outstanding Chapter and Green Chapter awards from the national ACS Committee on Education. Photo by Susanna Yee.

  • James Bunch group

    Undergraduate recipients of the James R. Bunch Mathematics Endowed Scholarship pictured with Emeritus Professor James Bunch (far left) and Dean Steven Boggs (far right).

  • James Mckernan

    James McKernan, Winner of the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics. Photo by Erik Jepsen, UC San Diego Publications.


See All News

Cal-Bridge Professional Development Workshop

UC San Diego Hosts First Cal-Bridge Professional Development Workshop

UC San Diego is part of a consortium of UC and CSU campuses that received a five-year, $5 million grant from the National Science Foundation to dramatically increase diversity in physics and astronomy through the Cal-Bridge program. Adam Burgasser recently hosted the program’s first professional development workshop. Quinn Konopacky and Karin Sandstrom participate in the program as faculty mentors.

Four UCSD 2018 APS Fellows

Four UC San Diegans Named 2018 APS Fellows

The American Physical Society (APS) recently announced its 2018 fellowship class with a 77 percent increase in the number of women compared to last year’s class. This is the most women elected as fellows since tracking the number of females nominated and elected began in 2015. Professor Vicki Grassian was among this year’s class of fellows.

Alison Coil

High School Journalists ‘Space Out’ with UC San Diego Astrophysicist

Professor Alison Coil met with students from Etiwanda High School (Rancho Cucamonga, CA) to discuss issues around what’s being called the current space race. The student-produced video segment titled, “A New Race for Space,” is part of the PBS NewsHour’s Student Reporting Labs program.

George Feher

Physical Sciences to Honor Late Founding Faculty Member George Feher

UC San Diego’s Office of the Dean of Physical Sciences, the Department of Physics and the International Society of Photosynthesis Research is hosting a memorial symposium in honor of George Feher, one of UC San Diego’s founding faculty members, who died last fall at age 93. Called “George Feher: Commemorating a Life in Biophysics,” the symposium will take place in the Fred Kavli Auditorium in Tata Hall, Friday, Oct. 5, from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The event is free/open to the public.

Left to right: Sergei Kalinin, 2018 Blavatnik National Laureate in Physical Sciences & Engineering; Len Blavatnik, founder and chairman of Access Industries and Blavatnik Family Foundation; Janelle Ayres, 2018 Blavatnik National Laureate in Life Sciences, and Devaraj.

Professor Honored as Chemistry Laureate

Chemistry & Biochemistry’s Neal Devaraj (pictured at far right) was recently celebrated as one of three 2018 Blavatnik National Laureates at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City. Devaraj was recognized as the national laureate in chemistry for his transformative work on the synthesis of artificial cells and membranes. Also pictured (left to right) is Sergei Kalinin, laureate in physical sciences & engineering (Oak Ridge Laboratory);  Len Blavatnik, founder and chairman  Access Industries and Blavatnik Family Foundation and Janelle Ayres, laureate in life sciences (Salk Institute for Biological Studies).

UC San Diego Division of Physical Sciences Logo


Homecoming 2018
Oct. 19-21, 2018

Portable Planetarium Viewing
Oct. 20, 2018 | 1-6 p.m.
Student Services Center - Multipurpose Room


Make a gift to support the Division of Physical Sciences.

Explaining Research Book Cover

Social Media