Skip to main content

Physical Sciences Faculty Named to Newly Created Titles: Distinguished Professors of Graduate Division

March 8, 2021 | By Mario Aguilera

Edward Dennis

Edward Dennis

Distinguished Professors Edward Dennis and Andrew McCammon have been appointed to the newly created UC San Diego title of distinguished professor of the graduate division. Both Dennis and McCammon have been recognized throughout their careers with many awards and distinctions.

The new appointment was created for retired UC San Diego faculty who remain active in their department and campus activities and continue to contribute with distinction.

“I congratulate Distinguished Professors Dennis and McCammon on this newly created honor,” said Division of Physical Sciences Dean Steven Boggs. “The new distinction is in recognition of their continued significant contributions to science and UC San Diego, and serves as yet another milestone in their long and eminent careers.”

030821-mccammon.jpgAndrew McCammon

Affiliated with UC San Diego since 1970, Dennis, a two time chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, is a widely recognized leader in investigations of the structure and function of a ubiquitous group of enzymes known as phospholipases. McCammon, a member of the National Academy of Sciences since 2011, investigates statistical mechanics and computational chemistry, with applications to biological systems. He has been affiliated with UC San Diego since 1995.