Skip to main content

School Committees

Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion for the Physical Sciences

Dean Boggs reviewing top priorities for the divion(Academic Year 2023 – 2024)

This committee will advise the Dean on priorities for targeted efforts to support the School’s equity, diversity and inclusion activities, engage the departments and partners in these efforts and advise the Dean on funding requests for equity, diversity and inclusion initiatives. More specifically, the charge of this committee includes the following:

  • Cultivate a culture of inclusion within the school for students, faculty and staff.
  • Identify and help implement best practices supporting diversity across the school.
  • Support and develop new EDI initiatives in the school.
  • Work closely with the departments and the Associate Dean for Education and Students in the development of programs for student success/inclusion.
  • Faculty on this committee will review contributions to diversity from faculty Excellence search candidates.
  • Work with the division’s communications officer to highlight efforts supporting diversity and the development officer to create opportunities to support new EDI programs.
  • Facilitate departmental and faculty participation in EDI efforts across the school.

EDI Fund Request

The Dean of Physical Sciences and the Committee on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion welcome applications for funding projects designed to address EDI-related issues in the school and its departments.

The types of activities proposed could include:
  • Travel to EDI conference
  • Development of new EDI-related outreach effort
  • Hosting EDI panel of speakers for the school or campus
  • Developing a summer program for students from an under-represented group
  • Professional development that is EDI-specific

Ideas for proposals are in no way limited to this list and can encompass any aspect of EDI that you feel could positively impact the division or its departments. We particularly encourage proposals that include multiple faculty and/or departments.

Amount of funding will be based upon available resources and the scope of the project; additionally, funding may come from multiple sources. For this reason, and to ensure inclusion of each department in this process, applicants should follow these instructions:

  • Create a pre-proposal which includes these elements:
    • Short description of the activity (~1 page)
    • Budget needed, with justification
    • Potential for applying to campus EDI grants if relevant (for details, see Funding Opportunities)
    • Any planned assessment efforts of impact, if relevant
  • Send this pre-proposal to the Assistant Dean with cc: to your department chair and diversity committee chair (if applicable). Pre-proposals are accepted on a rolling basis.
  • Feedback will be provided as to what aspects of this proposal are likely to move forward, along with any questions about the proposal itself. A formal proposal will be created through this process.
  • The AD EDI along with the School Committee on EDI will evaluate proposals.
  • The AD EDI will communicate with the department to assess whether cost sharing is appropriate for proposals that are recommended for funding.
  • Applicant will be informed of funding available for the proposed project, along with any stipulations for evaluation/assessment.




Stacey Brydges

Teaching Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Alison Coil

Professor of Physics
Ingrid and Joseph W. Hibben Chair

EDI Committee Members


Sekhar Chivukula

Distinguished Professor of Physics


Javier Duarte

Assistant Professor of Physics


Ioana Dumitriu

Professor of Mathematics


Nigel Goldenfeld

Distinguished Professor of Physics


Kiran Kedlaya

Professor of Mathematics
Stefan E. Warschawski Chair


Valerie Schmidt

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry


Brandon Seward

Assistant Professor of Mathematics


Dontarie Stallings

Assistant Teaching Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Past Members

Jelena Bradic
Adam Burgasser
Seth Cohen
Alex Frano
Kamil Godula
Vicki Grassian
Michael Holst
Skip Pomeroy
Robert Rome
Li Tien

Physical Sciences Staff EDI-C Committee

(Academic Year 2023 – 2024)

The Physical Sciences Staff EDI-C Committee is a voluntary group of staff interested in action-oriented topics impacting the presence and experience of underrepresented minority staff in the school. Any interested staff are welcome to attend by contacting one of the current members below.


Faye Chou (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Milagro Mariona-Cruz (Mathematics)
Erin Gerlach (Physics)
Antonio Greenwood SPS Staff Equity Advisor (Mathematics)
Allana Griffith (Physics)
Camillia King (Physics)
Jayme Laforte (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Jessica Nakashima (Dean’s Office)
Bret Noël (Physics)
Miguel Ramirez (Mathematics)
Jeff Rances (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Robert Rome (Dean's Office)
Rashma Saini (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Kelly Simmons (Mathematics)